Author Bio

A bit about me.

Image

My names mel. I’m Australian but, more importantly, I’m from Earth. I know you all are too. Well most of you. 

I’ve been writing for a long while. So long that my hand got tired and I gave up for a bit. About 5 years ago. What broke me? Well, nanowrimo technically. That was the last thing I wrote. A novel in a month. No, that’s unfair to wrimo. I’ll admit I was burnt out after it but I also had some life changes. It’s not that the circumstances didn’t permit, it’s that I used the circumstances as a convenient scapegoat.

So about a fortnight ago my supportive fiancé told me I should polish up that wrimo turd novel and get it publish. Great. Except that wrimo isn’t really about producing quality. It’s more like running a marathon. Five years later what I produced just doesn’t hold up. The truth is, despite my B.A. (Hons) in literature and theatre, the sort of weighty tome I was working toward just doesn’t seem relevant.

So where have I found truth and beauty? What works have echoed on in my heart? Excited and inspired me?

 

Sci-fi.

So fellow Earthlings, and others, I’m going to try something very different for myself. A genre which I’ve always read and admired but found too challenging to even attempt. I love it so deeply that it honestly intimidates me. I may not ever be listed amongst the masters, but I’m going to have fun trying. With all of the universe to play in, surely there’s room for little ol’ me?

Leave a Reply

